New “Hammer Series” Tough to Predict

The sport of cycling has always been deeply steeped in tradition, but it also stands at the forefront of modern technology.

The upcoming Hammer Series (June 2nd to 4th) is a groundbreaking new competition that could reinvent the sport. The three-day event will be live streamed on Facebook and Youtube, and Velon will be providing live speed, power output, and heart-rate data throughout. The use of on-bike Go-Pros will provide an immersive live viewing experience like none other.

The Hammer Series comprises of three separate events.

On Day 1, there’s the Hammer Sprint. Five riders from each team will complete a 10-lap circuit and points will be awarded at the end of each lap. After that is the Hammer Climb on Day 2, which is similar to Day 1 but with a hilltop finish. On the final day, there’s a fox-and-hound team time trial to determine the winning team.

We’ve never seen a race like this, so predicting the winning team is ridiculously tough. But looking at the start list, a few teams stand out from the bunch.

Quick-Step Floors will be sending the Giro points winner, Fernando Gaviria, who will definitely be a favorite for the Hammer Sprint. Classics hero Philippe Gilbert will also be there to lead them to victory.

Lotto Soudal have everything covered for the first two events, with André Greipel a favorite for the sprints and puncheur Tim Wellens well-suited for the Hammer Climb.

The revamped Team Sunweb picked up a heroic win at the Giro with Tom Dumoulin, and they’ll be one to watch at the Hammer Series. However, Dumoulin has some recovering to do and the rest of the team hasn’t been named yet.

Then there’s BMC Racing, who will wreak havoc in the team time trial but may struggle with the first two events.

We’re heading into uncharted waters, so strap in and get ready for something you’ve never seen before! Here are the odds to win the first ever Hammer Series.

Odds to win the 2017 Hammer Series

Quick-Step Floors: 41/9

Lotto Soudal: 21/4

Team Sunweb: 21/4

Trek-Segafredo: 87/13

BMC Racing: 22/3

Team Sky: 9/1

Orica-Scott: 19/1

Team LottoNL-Jumbo: 21/1