Darts: 2022 Cazoo Grand Slam of Darts Picks

  • What: 2022 Cazoo Grand Slam of Darts
  • Date: November 12-20, 2022
  • Location: Aldersley Leisure Village in Wolverhampton, England
  • How to Watch: ITV4, DAZN, Viaplay and PDCTV

The 2022 Cazoo Grand Slam of Darts Tournament takes place between November 12 and 20 at Aldersley Leisure Village in Wolverhampton, England. This year marks the 16th staging of the PDC event. Thirty two of the top darts players qualified for this year’s event.

Gerwyn Price is the reigning Grand Slam of Darts champion. Price has played well at the Aldersley Leisure Village, winning all three of the Grand Slam Tournaments that have been staged there.

The total prize pool for the 2022 Grand Slam of Darts is £650,000, with the winner taking home £150,000. The runner-up pockets £70,000. Those numbers are up from £550,000 overall last year. Price earned £125,000 for his victory in 2021, while runner-up Peter Wright took home £65,000.

Before we look at the picks for the 2022 Cazoo Grand Slam of Darts, check out our sportsbooks guide to get started on making the best PDC bets and while you’re at it, take a look at the best sports betting apps and mobile options. 

2022 Cazoo Grand Slam of Darts Picks

To Win 2022 Grand Slam of DartsBovada ReviewBetOnline Review
Michael van Gerwen+350+350
Gerwyn Price+450+500
Peter Wright+700+700
Jonny Clayton+1000+1200
Michael Smith+1200+1200
Damon Heta+1600+2500
Luke Humphries+1600+1600
Rob Cross+1600+2000
Dirk van Duijvenbode+1800+2500
Dave Chisnall+2000+2000
Joe Cullen+2000+3300
Josh Rock+2000+1600
Nathan Aspinall+2000+2200
Danny Noppert+2000+2500
Ross Smith+2500+2800
Ryan Searle+5000+5000
Martin Schindler+8000+10000
Simon Whitlock+8000+8000
Mensur Sulijovic+10000+8000
Scott Williams+10000+15000
Jermaine Wattimena+15000+15000
Leonard Gates+15000+25000
Alan Soutar+20000+15000
Luke Woodhouse+20000+20000
Raymond Van Barneveld+20000+12500
Ritchie Edhouse+20000+20000
Adam Gawlas+25000+20000
Nathan Rafferty+25000+25000
Lisa Ashton+35000+50000
Ted Evetts+35000+20000
Christian Perez+40000+25000
Fallon Sherrock+40000+25000

Gerwyn Price

Gerwyn Price was the No. 1 ranked player in the world heading into the World Grand Prix. One of the co-favorites to win that event along with Michael van Gerwen, Price made it to the final four before losing to Aspinall in the semi-final round. With that finish, he dropped to No. 2 in the rankings. However, Price regained the World No. 1 ranking on November 5 after winning the Players Championship 29 title.

Price defeated Peter Wright in the 2021 Grand Slam of Darts finals. He also won the event in 2019 and 2018.

The 37-year-old Price does not have an easy draw to open the event. He is matched up with Masters runner-up Dave Chisnall, 2012 Grand Slam of Darts champion Raymond Van Barneveld and World Youth Champion Ted Evetts in Group A.

Bet now

Michael van Gerwen

The 33-year-old Michael van Gerwen is a three-time PDC World Champion, holding the title in 2014, 2017 and 2019. He was the world’s No. 1 ranked player from 2014 through 2021. Van Gerwen’s current ranking is No. 3 in the world, behind No. 1 ranked Price and the No. 2 ranked Peter Wright.

Van Gerwen took home the title at the 2022 World Grand Prix, but followed that with a first-round elimination at the European Championship.

Van Gerwen has had some success in the Grand Slam of Darts. He took home the title in 2015, 2016 and 2017, but he has been eliminated in the quarter-finals in each of the past two years.

The Dutch player begins his 2022 Grand Slam of Darts in Group G along with Ross Smith, Luke Woodhouse and Nathan Rafferty. Of that group, Smith is the highest ranked at No. 20.

Michael van GerwenTO WIN 2022 GRAND SLAM OF DARTS
Bet now

Peter Wright

The 2021 runner-up, Peter Wright, has never won the Grand Slam of Darts. In addition to making the finals last year, he was in the championship round in 2017 and 2019 as well. He fell to Van Gerwen in 2017 and Price in 2019.

Wright is currently the No. 2 player in the world behind Price. At 52, he is the oldest player in PDC history to hold the No. 1 ranking, which he held until Price reclaimed that spot.

In January, Wright took home £500,000 when he claimed his second PDC World Darts Championship.

Wright is in Group E along with the player he defeated in last year’s quarter-finals, Fallon Sherrock. The other players in the group are World Grand Prix runner-up Nathan Aspinall and Scottish debutant Alan Soutar. Aspinall is the No. 12 ranked player in the world.

Bet now

Our pick

This is a tough tournament to pick because of the high quality of the players involved. However, looking at the Group draws for the opening of the event. I think the best bet for the 2022 Grand Slam of Darts is for Michael van Gerwen to return to the winner’s podium.

Pick: Michael van Gerwen to win the 2022 Cazoo Grand Slam of Darts

Michael van GerwenTO WIN 2022 GRAND SLAM OF DARTS
Bet now

See below the top sportsbooks where you can wager online and choose the best one for you:




50% up to $1,000

Bet Now




100% up to $1,000

Bet Now




125% Sports Bonus - up to $2,500

Bet Now
Trent Reinsmith

Trent covers UFC and MMA for MTS. He has written for USA Today Sports, Vice, Bloody Elbow, Fight! Magazine, UFC 360, and Narratively among others. He has been involved with MMA since he and some friends threw some money together to purchase the pay-per-view of UFC 1, and the rest is history.

Check how to bet on sports online Here!