MLB: 2023 Baseball Hall of Fame Picks

The Baseball Hall of Fame enshrined seven new members in 2022. Those players were inducted to the HOF on July 24. The players in the Hall of Fame class of 2022 were Bud Fowler, Gil Hodges, Jim Kaat, Minnie Miñoso, Tony Oliva, Buck O’Neil and David Ortiz. With that, eyes turned toward the players who could make up the HOF class of 2023.

Of the players listed with the potential to make it to Cooperstown, only Scott Rolen and Carlos Beltran are minus-money. Four players who won’t make the cut — and will no longer be on the HOF ballot — are Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Curt Schilling and Sammy Sosa.

Active and honorary members of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America vote for Hall of Fame players. In order to be enshrined, a player must get a vote on 75 percent, or more, of the voter’s ballots. According to the rules for election, “Voting shall be based upon the player’s record, playing ability, integrity, sportsmanship, character, and contributions to the team(s) on which the player played.”

Ballots need to be completed no later than December 31, 2022 for a player to be enshrined in 2023.

Before we look at the potential Baseball Hall of Fame class of 2023, check out our 2022 MLB Props Betting Guide as well as the best sites for betting on MLB in 2022. 

Baseball Hall of Fame 2023 picks

Baseball Hall of Fame 2023Bovada
Carlos Beltran-120
Scott Rolen-200
Francisco Rodriguez+175
Todd Helton+175
Alex Rodriguez+350
Billy Wagner+550
Jeff Kent+550
Andruw Jones+850
Gary Sheffield+900
Manny Ramirez+1200
Omar Vizquel+1400
Andy Pettitte+1600
Jimmy Rollins+1800
Bobby Abreau+1800
Mark Buehrle+1800
Torii Hunter+1800

Scott Rolen

Scott Rolen has been on the Hall of Fame ballot for five years. The percentage of votes he has received have increased with each year. In his first year of eligibility in 2018, Rolen had 10.2 percent of the vote. Last year, Rolen was up to 63.2 percent. That was a jump from the 52.9 percent he received the year before. Outside of David Ortiz, who made the cut in his first year, and Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens, who missed making the hall in their 10th and final year of eligibility, Rolen was the next highest vote getter.

Rolen isn’t a lock to make it in 2023, but his chances look very good.

Bet now

Carlos Beltran

This year is the first year of Hall of Fame eligibility for Carlos Beltran. Beltran played 20 seasons in the league for seven teams. He received votes for MVP seven times, was the 1999 Rookie of the Year,. He was also named an All-Star nine times and picked up a World Series ring in 2017.

Beltran’s career numbers are 2,725 hits, 435 home runs and a batting average of .279.

The big knock against Beltran is that he was part of the cheating scandal on that Houston Astros team and history tells us that Hall of Fame voters do not like players who have been mentioned as cheaters.

I do not think Beltran will make it into the Hall of Fame on his first ballot.

Bet now

Francisco Rodriguez

Like Carlos Beltran, Francisco Rodriguez is in his first year of Baseball Hall of Fame eligibility. One of the best closers in MLB history, Rodriguez, who picked up the nickname of K-Rod for his skills on the mound, retired with 437 career saves, which puts him behind three Hall of Famers in Mariano Rivera, Trevor Hoffman and Lee Smith. Rodriguez also holds the single-season MLB saves record with 62 saves for the Angels in 2007.

The road to the Hall of Fame is not easy for relievers. Billy Wagner, was in his seventh year of eligibility in 2022 and received 51 percent of the vote, which was up from the 46.4 percent he earned the previous year. Wagner has 422 saves, which is sixth all-time. The number five player in saves, John Franco, is not in the Hall of Fame.

There is a chance Rodriguez will get in the Hall of Fame, but I don’t think that chance will come in his first year of eligibility.

Francisco RodriguezTO MAKE BASEBALL HALL OF FAME IN 2023
Bet now

Our pick:

With Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens dropping off the ballot and a reluctance from some voters to give first-year eligible players the nod, I think Scott Rolen makes it to the Baseball Hall of Fame in 2023.

Pick: Scott Rolen to make the Baseball Hall of Fame in 2023.

See below a list of reliable sportsbooks and choose the best one for you.




50% up to $1,000

Bet Now




100% up to $1,000

Bet Now




125% Sports Bonus - up to $2,500

Bet Now
Trent Reinsmith

Trent covers UFC and MMA for MTS. He has written for USA Today Sports, Vice, Bloody Elbow, Fight! Magazine, UFC 360, and Narratively among others. He has been involved with MMA since he and some friends threw some money together to purchase the pay-per-view of UFC 1, and the rest is history.

Learn to bet on sports today Here!