Marvin Harrison Jr. Highlights the Best 2023 Heisman Trophy Underdogs

  • USC’s Caleb Williams (+500) is favored to win his second-straight Heisman Trophy in 2023 
  • Arch Manning (+10000) is competing for the Texas Longhorns’ starting job  
  • Marvin Harrison Jr. (+5000) could become only the second receiver to win the award in the past three decades

Last month, we looked at some early favorites in the Heisman Trophy Betting Odds, including Caleb Williams, who is looking to become the first repeat winner of the award in over a half century.

Today, we’ll turn our attention to some underdogs who could be named the top player in college football next season. Before look at the odds and provide our best longshots, be sure to check out our guide to betting on the 2023-24 NCAAF National Championship.

2023 Heisman Trophy Odds

PlayerBetOnline ReviewBovada
Caleb Williams+500+400
Jordan Travis+800+1000
Drake Maye+900+1200
Michael Penix Jr.+1200+1200
Sam Hartman+1200+1800
Bo Nix+1400+1200
Joe Milton+1800+2000
Jayden Daniels+2000+2000
Kyle McCord+2000+2500
Quinn Ewers+2000+1800
Cade Klubnik+2200+2000
Drew Allar+2500+2000
Brock Vandagriff+2800+1800
Blake Corum+3300+3300
Carson Beck+4000+4000
Dillon Gabriel+4000+3000
J.J. McCarthy+4000+2000
Spencer Rattler+4000+6000
Ty Simpson+4000+3000
Braelon Allen+5000+8000
DJ Uiagalelei+5000+8000
Jeff Sims+5000+5000
KJ Jefferson+5000+6000
Marvin Harrison Jr.+5000+3300
Nick Singleton+5000+4000
Quinshon Judkins+5000+6000
TreVeyon Henderson+5000+6000
Devin Brown+6600+5000
Jalen Milroe+6600+8000
Nico Iamaleava+6600+8000
Will Shipley+6600+6000
Arch Manning+7500+10000
Will Rogers+7500+7500
Cameron Rising+8000+6000
Conner Weigman+8000+8000
Devin Leary+8000+8000
Donovan Edwards+8000+8500
Gunner Stockton+8000+8000
Jase McClellan+8000+8000
Raheim Sanders+10000+15000
Tanner Mordecai+10000+10000
Tyler Shough+10000+10000

Arch Manning available at long odds

Arch Manning is currently available at 100-1 odds to win the Heisman Trophy. While the nephew of Peyton and Eli Manning was ranked as No. 1 recruit in the 2023 Class by 247Sports, he’s not even assured the Longhorns’ starting role. Manning will compete with sophomore Quinn Ewers, who passed for 2,177 yards, 15 touchdowns and six interceptions last season.

Even if the 6-foot-4 prodigy wins the job, he’s unlikely to post video-game type numbers as a 17-year-old. Keep in mind that his uncle Peyton never won a Heisman himself, finishing second to Charles Woodson in the voting back in 1997.

Marvin Harrison Jr. ready for his encore

If you want to wager on the kin of a Pro Football Hall of Famer, Marvin Harrison Jr. (+5000) is a better bet than Arch. The Buckeye junior dominated college football last season with 1,263 receiving yards and 14 touchdowns.

Ohio State may have even won last year’s National Championship if he wasn’t concussed in the CFP semifinal. When he left in the third quarter of the 42-41 loss to Georgia, Harrison Jr. had already registered five receptions for 106 yards and two TDs.

Arch Manning2023 Heisman Winner
Bet now
Kyle McCord2023 Heisman Winner
Bet now

Heisman underdogs at QB position

Every guy who doesn’t play the quarterback position is technically a longshot given that QBs have captured six of the last seven Heismans, as well as 11 of the past 13. In seven of the past nine years, Heisman winners also came from teams that made the four-team CFP tournament. The only exceptions being Caleb Williams (USC) last season and Lamar Jackson (Louisville) in 2016.

This means we should look for signal callers on winning programs. Kyle McCord (+2500) is taking over Ryan Day’s high-powered offense at Ohio State. Jalen Milroe (+8000) and Ty Simpson (+4000) will battle to take over for Bryce Young in Alabama. Meanwhile, Brock Vandagriff (+2800), Carson Beck (+4000) and Gunner Stockton (+8000) are competing to replace Stetson Bennett in Georgia.

Best Bet

Marvin Harrison Jr. (+5000) has a few things working against him. First, with CJ Stroud expected to go No. 1 in the 2023 NFL Draft, he will be catching passes from a new QB. And, secondly, only one wideout (DeVonta Smith) has won the award since 1992.

That said, the talented playmaker was electric last season and suits up for a team that should again compete for a national championship.

Marvin Harrison Jr.2023 Heisman Winner
Bet now

See below the top NCAAF sportsbooks where you can wager online and choose the best one for you:




50% up to $1,000

Bet Now




100% up to $1,000

Bet Now




125% Sports Bonus - up to $2,500

Bet Now
Steve Starr

Steve is the quintessential American sports enthusiast. He has mastered the art of Sundays, devoting them to football, and barbecue parties. He proudly wears the hats of a good father, husband and a great dog owner. Aside from his decades of contributing to different top-tier sports publications, Steve has also found his niche on Twitter, where he publishes funny and relatable sports-related insights. When he's not busy tweeting, Steve loves to watch each game unfold live. He possesses an innate talent for finding humor in the sports world, appreciating both the thrilling moments and the comedic mishaps that make each event unique.