2022 Jack Adams Award Picks For NHL’s Best Coach

  • Penguins coach Mike Sullivan (+550) is the favorite to win his first career Jack Adams Award
  • Darryl Sutter (+850) has his Flames atop the Pacific Division
  • Jon Cooper (+1100) and Andrew Brunette (+1000) are battling for top spot in the Atlantic

The Jack Adams Award is presented annually to “the NHL coach deemed to have contributed the most to his team’s success.” It’s a tricky trophy to handicap as the criteria is rather murky – past winners haven’t always coached the league’s top teams, but rather the clubs who exceeded expectations the most.

With well over a third of the 2021-22 hockey season still to play, we’ll check the latest Jack Adams odds and offer our best bets. Here’s also where you can find the top betting sites for NHL hockey in 2022 and smart wagering tips in our 2022 Stanley Cup betting guide.

2022 Jack Adams Award

Mike Sullivan+550+500
Darryl Sutter+650+850
Gerard Gallant+750+750
John Hynes+750+1000
Andrew Brunette+800+1000
Rod Brind'Amour+800+750
Jon Cooper+1100+1000
Dean Evason+1200+2000
Sheldon Keefe+1200+1200
Jared Bednar+1400+1200
Todd McLellan+1400+1200
Peter Laviolette+1800+1500
Craig Berube+2000+1200
Dallas Eakins+2000+2000
Peter DeBoer+2200+2500

Mike Sullivan’s a worthy favorite

Mike Sullivan (+550) coached the Penguins to back-to-back Stanley Cups in 2016 and ’17, but he has never won a Jack Adams Award. The Penguins bench boss has his club in first place in the Metropolitan despite being without Sidney Crosby for 10 games and Evgeni Malkin missing almost half the season.

However, Sullivan performed similar magic last year and somehow failed to garner a nomination after leading an aging, injury-decimated Pens roster to a division crown.  

Darryl Sutter is an incredible value

Darryl Sutter (+850) is another coach with two Stanley Cup rings and no Jack Adams trophies. The hockey cognoscenti scoffed when the 63-year-old was put in charge of a young Flames roster at this time last season, but Calgary is now atop the Pacific after reeling off eight-straight victories.

If the Flames can hold off the Golden Knights and claim an unexpected division title, the old-school Sutter will likely pick up some new hardware for his trophy case.

Mike SullivanJack Adams Award
Bet now
Darryl SutterJack Adams Award
Bet now

Coaching Award Contenders

Jon Cooper (+1100) continues our theme of coaches with two Cups and no coaching awards. Tampa Bay was expected to take a step back after losing their entire third-line to free agency, yet they can still conceivably finish with the best record in the Eastern Conference or perhaps the entire NHL.

Even if the Lightning fall short of those goals but still claim the Atlantic Division, voters may want to award Cooper for an incredible three-year run.

Andrew Brunette (+1000) could become only the fourth-ever in-season replacement to win the Jack Adams Award, which was first handed out in 1974. Acting as a head coach for the first time at any level, Brunette has kept the Panthers in Presidents Trophy striking distance since taking over from Joel “look the other way” Quenneville early in the season.

Dean Evason (+2000) is the best longshot on the board. Winners of eight of their past 10, his Wild are the third-highest-scoring team in the NHL (3.80 goals per game average). While catching Colorado in the Central may not be possible, Evason could still draw votes if Minnesota finishes strong.

Jon CooperJack Adams Award
Bet now

See below the top sportsbooks where you can wager online and choose the best one for you:




50% up to $1,000

Bet Now




100% up to $1,000

Bet Now




125% Sports Bonus - up to $2,500

Bet Now

Steve Starr

Steve is one of the many Americans who spends Sunday watching football on the couch and gorging on heart-clogging eats. He describes himself as a good father, great dog owner, and mediocre gambler and husband.

Check how to bet on sports online Here!