Back the Jamaica Tallawahs and the Guyana Amazon Warriors for CPL 2023 success

This week sees the start of the 2023 Caribbean Premier League. The Jamaica Tallawahs are the defending champions but not favorites to win the title again this year. In our latest cricket betting picks, we bring you all the latest betting news, including tournament winner futures, and we also tell you who we think are the best value picks to win the competition.

  • What; 2023 Caribbean Premier League
  • Who; Barbados Royals, Guyana Amazon Warriors, Jamaica Tallawahs, St Kitts and Nevis Patriots, Saint Lucia Kings, Trinbago Knight Riders
  • Where; Various Venues in West Indies
  • When; August 16th – September 24th, 2023
  • Defending Champions; Jamaica Tallawahs

The competition sees the six teams taking on each other twice in a double round-robin format, playing ten matches each in the group stages. The top four qualify for the playoffs, with the qualifier and eliminator process used to determine who the two finalists will be.

Betting to win the 2023 Caribbean Premier League

The leading team to win the 2023 Caribbean Premier League is the Trinbago Knight Riders. The best cricket betting sites make the Knight Riders their +220 betting favorites. Behind TKR in the betting is the St Lucia Kings at +400.

The remaining sides are all being given similar chances by the top sportsbooks. The Jamaica Tallawahs and Barbados Royals are +500, with the Guyana Amazon Warriors and St Kitts & Nevis Patriots priced at +550. The bookies don’t see much difference between the four franchises.

2023 CPL Winner BettingBovadaBetOnline ReviewMyBookie Review
Trinbago Knight Riders+220+220+220
St Lucia Kings+400+400+400
Jamaica Tallawahs+500+500+500
Barbados Royals+500+500+500
Guyana Amazon Warriors+550+550+550
St Kitts and Nevis Patriots+550+550+550

Our betting table has more odds from the best online sportsbooks for cricket betting. Please visit our best sportsbook sign-up bonuses page for more information on the latest new customer offers available from these sites.

Trinbago Knight Riders +220

Starting with the favorites, it’s fair to say that the Trinbago Knight Riders have experience on their side. But the problem is a lot of these guys saw their better days many moons ago.

A lineup that includes names like Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Rilee Rossouw, and Martin Guptill may sound great, but there is plenty of miles in those collective legs.

If the TKR players can roll back the years, they may well win. But at just +220, it looks a touch risky to us.

St Lucia Kings +400

The St Lucia Kings finished third in 2022. A lot will depend on Faf du Plessis, Johnson Charles, and Alzarri Joseph if they are to better that performance this season.

But former South Africa skipper du Plessis has just had an awful Major League Cricket campaign. While Johnson Charles has also struggled with form recently and has been dropped by his national side.

But in Alzarri Joseph, the Kings have a real match-winner. Joseph was the top wicket-taker in last year’s competition, and if a couple of players can back him up, they will have a chance of winning.

Jamaica Tallawahs +500

The Jamaica Tallawahs are the defending champions. Last year they won six on the spin to come from nowhere and lift the title. This year they’ve added T20 ‘gun for hire’ Alex Hales to their ranks, and he will join up after the conclusion of The Hundred.

Alex Hales is one of the most destructive T20 batters in the world. He recently retired from playing for England to concentrate on franchise cricket, and his addition to the Tallawahs gives them a great opportunity to go back-to-back.

Barbados Royals +500

The Barbados Royals topped the table last year. They have since lost the services of Mujeeb-ur-Rahman, but they can still call on the experience and leadership skills of Jason Holder. And when they’ve both finished their stints in The Hundred, Laurie Evans and Roelof van der Merwe should be available.

The arrival of Rovman Powell and wicketkeeper-batter Donovan Ferreira could be pivotal. If all the Royals’ big names can fire, they could go all the way.

Guyana Amazon Warriors +550

The Amazon Warriors had a decent 2022. They finished second in the table, but went out to the Jamaica Tallawahs in the second qualifier, losing by 37 runs.

Guyana have added Azam Khan to their ranks, who will add plenty of firepower to the batting lineup. But it’s spin that will be key. Imran Tahir will be the spearhead, and he will be supported by Gudakesh Motie and Junior Sinclair.

But the Amazon Warriors’ biggest asset could be that the playoffs and final are at their Providence home ground. This gives them a huge advantage if they can finish in the top four.

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots +550

St Kitts and Nevis boast the likes of Evin Lewis, Andre Fletcher, Shrefane Rutherford, Dominic Drakes, and Oshane Thomas.

As is often the case, a lot will depend on Evin Lewis. The Trinidadian is 31 years old now, and we still look at him as a youngster who will fulfill his potential one day. The future is quite clearly now for Lewis. If he fires, the Patriots will have a real chance.

Our Picks

We’re ignoring the Trinbago Knight Riders as we don’t think they represent good value at +220. This means we can make two picks from the remaining sides, due to the longer odds.

The two teams we like the look of are Jamaica Tallawahs (+500) and the Guyana Amazon Warriors (+550).

The Tallawahs’ addition of Alex Hales is exciting and could be a game-changer. Whilst the Amazon Warriors will have a home advantage if they make the playoffs, and with their spin options, they will have a real chance to win the competition outright.

Jamaica TallawahsTo win 2023 CPL
Bet now

Guyana Amazon WarriorsTo win 2023 CPL
Bet now

Please check out our recommended partner sites below. These are the best online sportsbooks for sports betting:




50% up to $250

Bet Now




50% up to $1,000

Bet Now




125% Sports Bonus - up to $2,500

Bet Now
Dean Etheridge

Hailing from Coventry, England, Dean brings his British wit to every piece he pens. A true lover of a good wager, Dean's passion for both sports and writing has merged into the world of sports betting. Dean is the mastermind behind his very own soccer and cricket betting platforms. As the owner and editor of a renowned football betting website, Dean has established himself as a force within the industry. His expertise as a freelance content writer is centered in the realms of football, cricket and Formula 1. From breaking down odds to unraveling strategies, Dean's writing radiates an unmatched love for sports. When he’s not immersed in sports betting, Dean enjoyes exploring new culinary delights, conquering the latest car racing video games, or getting lost in the pages of a novel.